manger

Created at the Ruhrtriennale - International Festival of the Arts 2014
date de creation: 
2014

choreography: Boris Charmatz
interpretated by: Or Avishay, Matthieu Barbin, Nuno Bizarro, Ashley Chen, Olga Dukhovnaya, Alix Eynaudi, Julien Gallée-Ferré, Peggy Grelat-Dupont, Christophe Ives, Maud Le Pladec, Filipe Lourenço, Mark Lorimer, Mani A. Mungai, Marlène Saldana

 

we eat lying down we sleep on our feet we digest information we dance with our mouths full we sing while chewing we chew while walking we dance while thinking while singing while swallowing we launch movement with our mouths our lips our fingers that we suck our feet that touch the food on the ground dance is in the palate dance is in the teeth dance is in the tongue we take away the table and the chairs and the tablecloth we dispense with the ritual of the meal we imagine a sort of meal in motion we eat everything we eat anything all the time long food chain passed from hand to hand food disappears in the bodies the décor becomes invisible the choreography of people also becomes a choreography of food that traverses the inside of space then of the body the essence is packed down the throat we don't want to die stuffed we go on a hunger strike our body becomes the strike of hunger our body becomes an object of strike we swallow the message we swallow reality we digest conflicts a child eats while dancing

notes (excerpts), Boris Charmatz



Choreographer and director of the Musée de la danse - a hybrid institution which digests formats and reframes bodies - Boris Charmatz subjects dance to formal constraints which redefine the field of its possibilities: a potentially infinite canon of gestures in Levée des conflits, inert bodies of children, animated by adult dancers in enfant... The stage is a notepad where he jots down ideas and organic concepts in order to observe the chemical reactions, the intensities, and the tensions engendered in their encounter. In manger, the center of gravity was subject to displacement: how to set bodies in motion not with the eyes, or with the limbs, but with the mouth? How to use this hollowness as a perceptual frame in its own right? The mouth is a crossroads where food, voices, breath, words, and saliva intermix: it is a locus of circulation, where the inside and the outside, the self and the other meet, taste each other, engage each other, interchange, and ingest each other. By picking up this metaphor as the vehicle for his choreography, Boris Charmatz marks out a general field of orality: dough chewed and swallowed is physical matter become a proliferating concoction. It swells, it sings, it is savored, it blends, it spreads mouth to mouth until it invades the whole space. In this continuous movement of ingestion, there emerge masticated melodies, paintings of flesh, sculptures of voice, food, and skin, which sketch a collective, sensual horizon. At the boundary between a mobile installation and an indeterminate sound object, manger is a "swallowed reality," an ingurgitated utopia: a slow digestion of the world.

Gilles Amalvi
in programs of Festival d'Automne in Paris, Théâtre de la Ville-Paris

 

 

light: Yves Godin
sound: Olivier Renouf
vocal training: Dalila Khatir
choreographic assistant: Thierry Micouin
general stage manager: Mathieu Morel
dresser: Marion Regnier
production: Sandra Neuveut, Martina Hochmuth, Amélie-Anne Chapelain
sound material: Ticket Man, The Kills ; Hey Light, Animal Collective ; King Kong, Daniel Johnston ; Leisure Force, Aesop Rock ; Je t'obéis, Sexy Sushi ; La Folia, Arcangelo Corelli ; Symphony n°7, Ludwig van Beethoven ; Qui habitat, Josquin des Prez ; Three Voices, Morton Feldman ; Lux Alternae, György Ligeti
text: Le bonhomme de merde in L'Enregistré, Christophe Tarkos, P.OL., 2014
production: Musée de la danse
coproduction: Ruhrtriennale - International Festival of the Arts, Théâtre National de Bretagne-Rennes, Théâtre de la Ville et Festival d'Automne à Paris, steirischer herbst-Graz, Holland Festival-Amsterdam, Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Bruxelles, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt am Main
thanks to: Imane Alguimaret, Marguerite Chassé, Noé Couderc, Lune Guidoni, Hypolite Tanguy, les étudiants de P.A.R.T.S. (Bruxelles) et du Master-Studiengang Performance Studies (Université d'Hambourg), Alexandra Vincens

manger

Créée à la Ruhrtriennale - International Festival of the Arts 2014
date de creation: 
2014

chorégraphie : Boris Charmatz
interprétation : Or Avishay, Matthieu Barbin, Nuno Bizarro, Ashley Chen, Olga Dukhovnaya, Alix Eynaudi, Julien Gallée-Ferré, Peggy Grelat-Dupont, Christophe Ives, Maud Le Pladec, Filipe Lourenço, Mark Lorimer, Mani A. Mungai, Marlène Saldana

 

nous mangeons couché nous dormons debout nous digérons les informations nous dansons la bouche pleine nous chantons en mâchant nous mâchons en marchant nous dansons en pensant en chantant en avalant nous attaquons le mouvement à partir de la bouche des lèvres des doigts que nous suçons des pieds qui touchent la nourriture au sol la danse est du palais la danse est des dents la danse est de la langue nous enlevons table et chaises et nappe nous enlevons le rituel du repas nous imaginons une sorte de repas en mouvement nous mangeons tout nous mangeons de tout tout le temps longue chaîne de nourriture passées de bras en bras la nourriture disparaît dans les corps le décor devient invisible la chorégraphie des gens devient aussi la chorégraphie des aliments qui traversent l'espace puis le corps par l'intérieur l'essentiel est enfoui dans la gorge nous ne voulons pas mourir étouffé nous faisons la grève de la faim notre corps devient un objet de grève nous avalons le message nous avalons le réel nous digérons les conflits un enfant mange en dansant

notes (extrait), Boris Charmatz



Chorégraphe et directeur du Musée de la danse - institution hybride qui digère les formats et décadre les corps -, Boris Charmatz soumet la danse à des contraintes formelles qui redéfinissent le champ de ses possibilités : canon potentiellement infini de gestes dans Levée des conflits, corps d'enfants inertes, animés par des adultes dans enfant... La scène lui sert de brouillon où jeter concepts et concentrés organiques, afin d'observer les réactions chimiques, les intensités et les tensions naissant de leur rencontre. Avec manger, c'est le centre de gravité du mouvement qui se trouve déplacé : comment mouvoir le corps non à partir des yeux, des membres, mais de la bouche ? Faire de cette béance un cadre perceptif à part entière ? Carrefour où se mélangent nourriture, voix, souffle, mots, salive, la bouche est un lieu de circulation où l'intérieur et l'extérieur, le moi et l'altérité se rencontrent, se goûtent, se jaugent, s'échangent, s'ingèrent. En saisissant cette métaphore comme moteur chorégraphique, Boris Charmatz balise un champ général de l'oralité : pâte mâchée, avalée, la matière physique se fait mixture proliférante. Ça bouffe, ça chante, ça se goûte, s'entremêle, ça rayonne de bouche en bouche jusqu'à envahir tout l'espace. Dans ce mouvement continu d'ingestion surgissent des mélodies mastiquées, des tableaux de chair, des sculptures de voix, de nourriture et de peaux, esquissant un horizon collectif et sensuel. À la frontière de l'installation mouvante et de l'objet sonore indéterminé, manger est un « réel avalé », une utopie déglutie : une lente digestion du monde.

Gilles Amalvi
in programme du Festival d'Automne à Paris, Théâtre de la Ville-Paris

 

 

lumière : Yves Godin
son : Olivier Renouf
arrangements et travail vocal : Dalila Khatir
assistant à la chorégraphie : Thierry Micouin
régie générale : Mathieu Morel
habilleuse : Marion Regnier
production : Sandra Neuveut, Martina Hochmuth, Amélie-Anne Chapelain
matières sonores : Ticket Man, The Kills ; Hey Light, Animal Collective ; King Kong, Daniel Johnston ; Leisure Force, Aesop Rock ; Je t'obéis, Sexy Sushi ; La Folia, Arcangelo Corelli ; Symphony n°7, Ludwig van Beethoven ; Qui habitat, Josquin des Prez ; Three Voices, Morton Feldman ; Lux Alternae, György Ligeti
texte : Le bonhomme de merde in L'Enregistré, Christophe Tarkos, P.OL., 2014
production : Musée de la danse
coproduction : Ruhrtriennale - International Festival of the Arts, Théâtre National de Bretagne-Rennes, Théâtre de la Ville et Festival d'Automne à Paris, steirischer herbst-Graz, Holland Festival-Amsterdam, Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Bruxelles, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt am Main
remerciements : Imane Alguimaret, Marguerite Chassé, Noé Couderc, Lune Guidoni, Hypolite Tanguy, les étudiants de P.A.R.T.S. (Bruxelles) et du Master-Studiengang Performance Studies (Université d'Hambourg), Alexandra Vincens